Between Dusk and Dawn…

Some *scribble* *scribble* by Ameera

I miss Ramadan

I miss Ramadan.

I miss everything about it.

I miss waking up early when it’s still dark and quiet outside.

I miss the simple joy of making Suhoor… keeping the meal light yet bringing in some variation from one day to another.

I miss listening to the Fajr adhaan at the awwal time and praying there and then!

I miss the carefree nap after Fajr while morning light began to filter in through the curtains.

I miss the sound of Qur’an being recited by several people at home.

I miss not having to care about food or water during the day, doing other activities instead.

I miss the special foods I’d look forward to making for Iftaar – and especially to focus on keeping it light and healthy.

I miss the fun of sending special Iftaar foods to our neighbors and then receiving their own traditional dishes in return!

I miss the last few moments before Iftaar when I enjoyed making my most precious dua’s!

I miss the joy of biting into a succulent date at the call of the Maghrib adhaan.

I miss how awesome water tasted at Iftaar, more than at any other time of the day.

I miss watching the live Taraweeh transmission from Madinah and Makkah.

I miss the satisfaction of having prayed all twenty Rak’ah with the Imam in Taraweeh, during the nights that I was able to go for it.

I miss listening to the awesome dua’s made my Imams at the end of Taraweeh!

I miss crying during my dua’s.

I miss staying up all night during the odd-nights of the last ten days.

I miss the pleasure of giving Sadaqah while fasting.

I miss the wholesome joy of Eid.

I miss how Ramadan made me feel.

Now that it’s gone, I can only hope and pray that I am able to witness it again. Insha’Allah.

I miss Ramadan.

10 responses to “I miss Ramadan

  1. Muhammad Yousuf Tafhim September 17, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    Same here!!! I’m trying to keep up with the intentions i made to change myself to be a better person… It was easy when Satan was weak, now its not so easy. May Allah protect us all!!

    • Ameera September 17, 2010 at 7:03 pm

      Jazaak’Allah for commenting!

      You’re right, Shaytan’s presence is a big factor. That’s what I think about most every time I compare the days of Ramadan to current days.

  2. Amad September 19, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    I miss the khushoo in all ibaadaat.

    I miss praying taraveeh behind Mishari Rashid.

    I miss fighting with my dear friends that its 20 and not 8. πŸ™‚

    I miss caring about nothing else, except for Allah’s pleasure.

    May this Ramadhan, change Pakistan for the better. Ameen.

  3. abez September 22, 2010 at 3:00 am

    Me too sister, me very much too.

    For the first time in my life, this Ramadan I cried when I was told that the next day was Eid, because it meant the end of a month of sanctuary and I felt vulnerable again.

    • Ameera September 27, 2010 at 9:37 pm

      Welcome, Sr Abez! I love your blog and wish I was able to read it regularly. My cousin introduced to me to it, she loves it. πŸ™‚

      You are right about Ramadan ending being so sad… I felt the same way, though perhaps not so acutely because I could not shed any tears. 😦 I did feel sad that Shaytan would be out and suddenly, we’d be more involved in worldly affairs and consider trivial issues of life so greatly again. :S

  4. Farzeen September 25, 2010 at 6:27 am

    Assalaamu’alaykum Ameera

    I hope you’re well dear sister, insha’Allah πŸ™‚

    *ahem* — *All too fast the moon goes past, our month of blessings now has gone, but we’ll keep it spirit throughout the year, every day should be like Ramadhan!*

    Masha’Allah, those are beautiful things to miss, but even more beautiful to persevere in, insha’Allah. I’ve yet to taste either… May Allah help us all, ameen.

    Your du’as insha’Allah.

    • Ameera September 27, 2010 at 9:40 pm

      Walaikumussalam and Jazaakillah, Farzeen! How are you? πŸ™‚ I missed talking to you i.e. exchanging comments. I’ve been ignoring my personal blog but have no come back with a renewed spirit to keep writing, Insha’Allah, even if the blogosphere has much, much wonderful blogs out there in comparison to mine. πŸ™‚

      Your bit of poetry there is very nice, Masha’Allah. πŸ™‚ I wish it could be so!! May Allah enable us to witness many, many Ramadan ahead! Ameen!

      Please do keep me in your dua’s!

  5. Amnah October 7, 2010 at 8:43 am

    Agreed! I wish it was Ramadan all year round. But I suppose it wouldn’t be as special.

Leave a Reply

