Between Dusk and Dawn…

Some *scribble* *scribble* by Ameera

7 Benefits of the Niqaab

So there I was, heading home from college in a rickshaw, trying desperately to hold on to my seat and also retain possession of my bag while the dupatta on my head was flying about, despite a safety pin to secure it in place. What else should happen just then other than that a motorcycle passes by and the person seated behind the driver turns his face a full one hundred and sixty degrees to stare at the “girl in the rickshaw”. One glance and he’s on to next car or rickshaw in the vicinity, confirming the fact that silly men continue to stare at even modestly dressed or covered women.

“Ha! Let’s make things difficult for you!” I thought and lightly draped one end of my dupatta across the lower half of my face, just enough to make me feel momentarily comfortable with the new set up. However, it got me thinking along some comical lines… benefits of the face veil. In the rocking rickshaw, I jotted down a few points I came up with and here I’m sharing them with you. Please know this is not at all a proper article about the plus points of the Niqaab but it’s simply light hearted stuff to share.

Niqaabi

  1. You friend says something that angers you and you make a rude face. Your friend spots the expression and is hurt or retorts angrily in return… oops, major problems in the long run. But for a Niqaabi, you can never see their whole facial expression except the widening or narrowing of their eyes, which of course could be attributed to the sun shining brightly, etc. I tell you, it’s not a joke, I’ve noticed this with some friends and really… my expressions can turn off people but theirs’, no way, they are “naturally immune” to that problem.
  2. You can chew gum in class without the teacher noticing.
  3. You missed breakfast but you can chomp on anything in class if you keep side-way jaw movements minimized.
  4. You can yawn in class out of total boredom without the teacher noticing.
  5. A large, totally embarrassing pimple appears on the tip of your nose but you have to go to college or your job – no problem for the Niqaabi!
  6. Everyone’s concerned about catching Flu virus version 2.0 and scrabbling to buy funny masks while the Niqaabi just looks on amusedly.
  7. Something stinks! Yeah it does but only you can smell it… your Niqaabi friend’s protected.

Add more, be totally creative and come with suggestions better than the ones I’ve put up! I’m looking forward to it! =D

13 responses to “7 Benefits of the Niqaab

  1. BrownS October 8, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    8. You get to see former Grand Muftis stroking their vacuous egos 🙂

  2. mummyjaan October 9, 2009 at 1:09 am

    *Ahem, you aren’t making fun of the niqab, are you Ameera?

    I’ll add mine: 9. Niqabis age slower; less sun-damage, brighter, cleaner, wrinkle-free skin for longer.

    No. 1 doesn’t necessarily hold true; your friends get to know your expressions by just looking at your eyes. Trust me.

    Pimples seldom occur on your nose with the niqab because your face tends to be protected from the grime and oil that covers the rest of the great polluted outdoors.

    No. 6 might be true, but no. 7 isn’t; most niqabs are thin enough to let foul odours through.

    • Ameera October 10, 2009 at 11:50 am

      Not at all! I’m very pro-Niqaab… not that my amateur personal opinion should ever value in a matter of Deen but I really like the Niqaab and all the good that comes from it. So this post was just something that came to my mind, in the context of that discussion that took place on Muslim Matters recently.

      Hm… yes, your friends do know you by your expression but even then, I’ve seen my friend handle many a difficult people very smoothly, thanks to the masking of her immediate reactions through the Niqaab. Oh, and she exerts patience too of course!

      Ah yes, the Niqaab does act as a natural sunscreen although, as you said, it might not work well to protect from odours.

      But really… the Niqaab has its own defined purpose whether there are additional benefits or not. 🙂

  3. Ayse October 13, 2009 at 10:43 pm

    Lolz, love it, I’ve personally practiced all the above =D
    And though no. 7 isn’t accurate, I undoubtedly was the last person to detect the said odor =D

    • Ameera October 14, 2009 at 1:54 pm

      Ayse, you’ve just given me a boost… I was hitting myself on the head for hurriedly typing out such a random and silly post but it seems, there was something substantial behind it anyway. Yay for Ayse! Jazakillah! 🙂

  4. Ninjabi October 17, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    Oh my Allaah! That was hilarious. As a niqaabi, I feel what your saying sis 😉

    Nice blog btw 🙂

  5. Loga October 19, 2009 at 8:11 am

    I hope you’ll join us and write about the efforts we are making to help support those sisters who do decide to wear it:

    http://loga-abdullah.blogspot.com/2009/10/ban-niqaab.html

    BarakAllah fiikum

  6. Taliban October 21, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Allah Ho Akber! How dare You make fun of Niqab!! I coming to crash a plane into your building! Allah Ho Akber!

  7. Maria Shubah January 11, 2013 at 6:26 am

    RIDICULOUS.

Leave a Reply

