Between Dusk and Dawn…

Some *scribble* *scribble* by Ameera

Write Right!

(The title’s lame-ish but ignore that for now…)

I’ve been thinking a lot about blogs and blogging lately… that sounds silly because I haven’t actually posted much here! See, that’s what I was thinking about – there’s so much that goes through a person’s mind, topics that are bloggable but strangely, when it comes down to the writing part, it suddenly seems a little difficult. Why? I think it’s because we tend to be very cautious when we’re actually penning, or typing details about our thoughts and opinions. As a cousin pointed out to me recently, it’s all about ‘Image Management’!Β  All the time we spend on the Internet, on sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Orkut and blogs – it’s all about projecting ourselves in the best way possible through carefully crafted profiles, images, status updates, blog posts, social groups, fan pages and so on. That’s right, it’s a PR exercise and no one wants to mess up their persona in public!

Write freely

Not all would agree, I am sure. However, if you’re a blogger, I wonder if you’ve noticed this happening to you: you sit down to write or at some odd hour of the day, some topic comes to mind and you think, “yeah, I should definitely write something about that…” but then, another thought… “no… but if I mention that, people’s will think me strange or if I write that, I’m going to come across as a silly girl… um, maybe another time.” I don’t know about you but it’s happened to me lots of times and the result is that I end up writing on a “safe” topic, one where I’m quite certain I would not ignite a debate or raise any eyebrows. I don’t think that’s a good idea because doesn’t it defeat the whole concept of maintaining a blog, that you express your own ideas and thoughts freely? Of course, one must adhere to principles of decency and write responsibly and I’m not thinking of even approaching those limits, let alone cross them, but writing freely is the only way to write. Also, while we’re on the subject, I must say ‘writing freely’ can be used in positive ways, instead of all the nonsensical trash that comes to mind whenever someone mentions “freedom of speech” (and that trash is actually misusing “freedom of speech”).

There are some bloggers who have honed their blogging skills to the level that their blog now represents them 100% and I’ve discovered that’s the greatest achievment for a writer. Not only are their thoughts clearly expressed in their blog, it’s actually the whole experience – the occasional quirky joke, the ability to be sombre when it’s necessary and not over do any emotion – that counts for readers. I guess it’s something that you build up over time, making sure not to impose unnecessary inhibitions on yourself while writing. So, having realized this, I’m going to ease off on the brakes and let myself write with a greater degree of freedom. After all, I too want my blog to represent me 100% !

(The title’s still lame but I’m not removing it! πŸ™‚ )

7 responses to “Write Right!

  1. Farzeen April 23, 2009 at 1:15 am

    Assalaamu’alaykum wa rahmatuLlah πŸ™‚

    The title isn’t lame… it’s fun! And it works! So embrace it :).

    I think sometimes it depends on why we write. Most times we don’t know who is reading, but in the realistic world, we can imagine that no more than a handful read what is written, and even less would care enough use it to formulate a praiseworthy opinion of the writer.

    I consider it important that I get something from my own writing (that’s my personal regulation in my own writing which is why sometimes things that I write make little sense to other than me), and hope that should others take the time to read it, that they too can find some benefit in it, insha’Allah.

    To write for the sake of writing itself is, in my opinion, problematic. It takes just a moment to open a book of profound substance (and there are many books like this) to realize that anything that I can write (and I speak for myself alone in this regard) is really a mockery of the great tool of writing… but I justify my continued efforts in this regard because writing is uhmm.. I don’t want to say therapeutic, nor do I want to say an outlet, but it’s… a gift that has its time, place, and purpose.

    As for being reserved in writing… there is benefit in it. I guess it all just relates to particular stages in life that we’re going through. So don’t rule it out entirely. Certainly everyone’s writing (and any form of personal expression) changes over time.

    Philosophies aside, happy writing! Insha’Allah! πŸ™‚

  2. Ameera April 23, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    Walaikumassalam wa rehmatullahi wa barakatohu!

    I can always count on you to give me the best insight into what I wrote myself. πŸ™‚ I’m glad I can understand what you said about writing/blogging helping the writers themselves. Maybe that’s the real reason I’m cautious (for lack of a better word) while blogging… I want to make sure *I* get the message perfectly, before anyone else.

    It’s also true how much stuff that’s written just for the sake of writing ends up a waste of the readers’ time. For example, I come across occasional newspaper articles in the lifestyles section which are often just a lot of random speak and no real substance.

    I felt your latest post, about ‘complaining’ was sort of what I was referring to… writing a little *differently* than the usual.

    I want to go and update the blog now… πŸ˜€ Jazakillah!

  3. iMuslim April 25, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    I think we do need to be cautious about how much freedom we allow ourselves when it comes to blogging. Especially when you realize that certain feed readers (such as Google Reader) don’t hide blog posts that have been deleted. I mean: HOW evil? Knowing that you can’t even take back what you said!

    You’re correct about it taking time to get into blogging… If you compare my original posts to my latest ones, you’ll see a marked difference. Not only is my use of grammar a lot better these days, I tend to write less ’emotionally’. Once bitten, and all that.

    It doesn’t mean I don’t like to get a little silly from time to time. πŸ˜€

  4. Ameera May 9, 2009 at 8:28 am

    The last time I tried to comment, there was a power failure and I lost all I’d written so let’s try to do this again… πŸ™‚

    Your words come as a sort of confirmation to what I am only just beginning to understand about blogging. And while I did talk about writing more “freely” in this post, I can also understand that disclosing too much, intentionally or unintentionally, isn’t a good thing. It’s not just in terms of personal information but also inner thoughts and feelings. Sometimes, a certain mood or frame of mind makes us react, or even write, in a certain manner. I, too, have deleted certain posts after writing them and I think that was the right thing to do.

    I hope I “evolve” (ala Pokemon style) quickly and learn to write well InshAllah. And for that reason, InshAllah, I aim to write here more often!

  5. afshanzia July 16, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    asalamoalaikum
    you are so right ammeerah… that does happen to me too……. you see at times even while we go like ‘oh i least care what pl think about me. oh i dont bother about this image thing’……. somewhere inside we actually do care.
    sometimes it happens so that you think of writing on a topic and it all is storming and raging thru your mind, but when you actually sit in front of your pc or grab a paper and pen…. .your mind goes blank, i particularly hate when that happens

    and ameerah i think you write really well yourself, dont worry about 100%. ‘m sure you are somewhere near that mark. πŸ™‚
    AZ

  6. Ameera July 23, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    Hahaha… so true, Afshan! Thanks a lot for the compliment although I do NOT think I write well. In fact, after reading some exceptional and inspiring blogs lately, I feel like shutting down mine because it doesn’t seem worthy in comparison. I’m not being falsely modest here, really! :S

  7. afshanzia July 28, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    oh c’mon. dont be so hard on yourself. You write better than most, trust me on that, and if such self doubt resurfaces ever again; read my blog,lol πŸ˜›
    Besides i have learned never to compare yourself with anyone, everyone is amazing in their own right.

Leave a Reply

