Between Dusk and Dawn…

Some *scribble* *scribble* by Ameera

All About Stories…

I checked my email today and was pleasantly surprised (nay, shocked) to see an email informing me I’d won the third prize in Muslim Matters‘ short story contest that was held in Ramadan this year. Yes, you can imagine my shock! Alhamdolillah!

Once I got over the initial surprise, I was faced with the knowledge that my story would now be posted up on the website for everyone to read – everyone! The story had to be a real incident, inspiring, with Ramadan as the theme. One evening in Ramadan, after Iftar, I wrote a short piece about my own life before really knowing Islam and sent it in. Now, why am I slightly uneasy about everyone reading it?

That’s because it’s always weird to write about yourself and then to post it up for the whole world to read!

Now, my sister wants to know what I’ve written. I’m sure that’s even more difficult to imagine – I’m hoping she’ll forget all about it by tomorrow morning. Siblings know you inside-out, so well… it’s difficult for them to take an objective stand – they’d rather just laugh at you! πŸ™‚

I’m hoping this little incident will buoy me sufficiently to carry ahead with a fledgling idea that I had – to write short stories for children/young adults from an Islamic aspect. I’m not referring to those bedtime “moral” stories but simple stuff you could pick up and enjoy. without worrying about unIslamic stuff coming in between. Stories, imagination shape the personality… I want to write something that enables people to imagine scenarios where Islam is being simply implemented. It might be the story of a small household struggling to raise ten kids (heheh) decently, with Islamic principles. Or, real-life school incidents with exam tensions, bullying, peer-pressure… all with practical, do-able solutions. Sounds like a truck-load but there’s a great big vaccum in this corner of Islamic literature – kids and us “growing-ups” have wild imaginations, inspirations that need good guidance in a language we understand easily.

Enough story-telling for today.

Assalam-o-alaikum!

8 responses to “All About Stories…

  1. vindicated October 15, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Assalamoalikum.

    Read your story. Alhamdulillah, I can relate with your experience πŸ™‚

    Do continue with your idea of short stories, I’d be more than willing to read them.

  2. asqfish October 16, 2008 at 5:50 am

    Asalaamoalikum! Congratulations! the best stories are those which you feel! BTW where is the story?

  3. Jasera October 19, 2008 at 8:01 am

    Yeah, I wanna read the story! Btw, thats an excellent idea you have about Islamic short stories for children! I have 3 nieces Alhumdulillah, and Its a tough task trying to tell them stories without wondering what impact its gonna have on them and fabricating the un-Islamic part into something stupid…I wish there was some Children series! Insha Allah, you will provide us with a brilliant series on that, eh sis? πŸ˜‰ JazakAllah

  4. Ameera October 19, 2008 at 8:28 am

    JazakAllah! Your words of encouragement are worth a treasure! πŸ™‚

    The story is here: http://muslimmatters.org/2008/10/15/short-story-contest-08-3rd-place-whomsoever-allah-guides-by-sr-amira-kiran-khan/

    As for writing short stories for children, it’s a cute little dream that’s constantly nudged aside by “priorities”. 😦 I wan tot try one though… perhaps it will set the stage for more, InshAllah!

  5. asqfish October 22, 2008 at 6:30 am

    Subhanalllah! It takes courage to admit ones past. Please do give lots of sadaqa for the person who was pivotal to your change. Perhaps you will become that person for someone else, if you remain non judgemental:)

  6. Firas MR October 31, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    mashallah! wonderful piece! i know this is coming late, but congrats!

  7. Jasera January 29, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    Assalamoalaikum warehmatullah wabarakatuhu πŸ˜€

    SO, I stumble upon you again, Alhumdulillah πŸ˜€ (I say that cuz I found it really benefitial again) I read your prize winning story…simply beautiful πŸ™‚

    and YET AGAIN, I wanntedd to ask what became of the children stories thingy, I intend to bug you intil you fulfil this cute and benefitial dream, insha Allah πŸ˜€ Cuz, I for one, would make sure you have a fan following for these series, insha Allah. Its a beautiful concept and theres a gap in that section which is waiting to be fulfilled, insha Allah and I deem you to be one of teh best people to do it, insha Allah πŸ˜€

    Though it must prove to be hard with your medical n all on the go. but you know just write one and Allah(swt) will help you achieve it insha Allah πŸ˜€

    `Masalaama.

    *lovies* (There are many people I instantly develop an affinity for – further elucidates the concept of loving someone for the sake of Allah(Swt) – and you’re one of them :D)

    Take care and May Allah(swt) bless us all with true guidance and knowledge of His deen and the strength to completely embrace Islam as a way of life, insha Allah)

  8. ibn e qaseer January 6, 2015 at 2:03 am

    I read the story and have some constructive feedback. Though, stories like this are good for winning prizes and making the real world look beautiful, they seem to be dumbing down the religion a bit and in process dumbing down the minds that read it, in particular the children. I think the maturity level should be raised a bit, if we are to produce scholars like we did in the golden age of islam.

    Compare this to what Dr Allam Iqbal wrote to his son when he asked him to bring a musical device from Britain.

    Good effort otherwise πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

