Between Dusk and Dawn…

Some *scribble* *scribble* by Ameera

Back 2 Blog

Assalam-o-alaikum!

After quite a long break, of around a month, I’m back online, Alhamdolillah. This message would have appeared a few days earlier, when I was at University but there was a power failure causing my half-written post to warp into nothingness. It is always difficult to rewrite something bcause somewhere in the back of your mind, there’s the constant thought that it won’t be as good as the first attempt!

Right. So in this past one month, I’ve moved to a new place – a large, four-bedroom apartment. Alhamdolillah, it’s really great with lots of sunshine and breeze in the rooms. We’ve finally bought our own apartment which means everything’s the way we want it. The kitcen is really cool and one of the main attractions, especially because it is so well placed. I’ve got a room of my own which, I discover each day, is really good for so many reasons – most of all, a place to get away from it all and talk to myself in peace.

So that past month was all about unpacking cartons of all shapes and cizes and trying to get things into order. My parents assembled furniture, calling it their ‘game’ as they pored over instruction manuals and toolkits. Things are slowly coming into order although the guest room, where I am currently sitting typing this, resembles a store room for everything that doesn’t belong to the other three rooms.

It’s also exam season. I just got over with my term tests/stage which went really well under the circumstances, Alhamdolillah, although it wasn’t easy to study all day long the first week we moved here. My sisters are now busy with theirs while I have some time to relax and set things into order with the second term just getting underway.

It’s very hot here in Karachi these days so doing anything seems to require twice the will and four times the normal water requirement per day. šŸ˜› However, what I had been keeping in mind earlier now needs to be put into actions. I’ve got a lot to do, as I noted in an earlier post.

– Learn more about Islam, with references to Ayaat and Ahadith.
– Give Da’wah to Non-Muslims.
– Keep a check on anger and irritability.
– Study well at University.
– Learn Tajweed properly.
– Write articles to newspapers.

That’s just the proverbial tip of the iceberg and listing them there seems to belittle the tasks, as if that’s there’s to it. Anyhow, they’re all top priority for a number of reasons.

I’ve wanted to write about a number of issues here recently, including a judicial crisis in the country which has stirred up protests and violence. As I write this today, a consequence of this same crisis is causing bloodshed and political sparring in the city. A TV new channel’s building is under fire from armed protesters/political hooligans. You can find more about it at Geo TV, Aaj TV or BBC.

May Allah help us and protect us all. Ameen!

I’ll be back very soon, InshAllah.
Assalam-o-alaikum.

Leave a Reply

