Between Dusk and Dawn…

Some *scribble* *scribble* by Ameera

The Big Move

… is finally here, Alhamdolillah. We’re moving into our own apartment this weekend, InshAllah.

It’s funny that I’m calling it ‘the Big Move’ when actually, our new apartment is just about a kilometer-and-half away from where we are right now. However, it’s the Big Move in another way:

My parents have been busy running around for the past two months, trying to get the workmen/contractors to finish up on time. It’s surprising how much effort one has to put into setting up his/her own apartment! For the furniture we were getting made, my parents had to make several trips to the stores just to get the cupboard handles right! Not only that, they went half-way across (the huge city of) Karachi to get the right light fixtures and chandeliers. And that’s just the tip of the iceberg! It’s just about driven us crazy – we got used to seeing our parents come home in the evening from a whole days scurring about for the right stuff.

I have to say though, Alhamdolillah, the apartment looks fantastic! We’ve made some alterations in the design by knocking out a few walls and opting for a semi-open kitchen instead of an isolated, closed one. Another feature of the apartment itself is that three of the four bedrooms have windows which open to the west – a “west-open” apartment. It’s really good in Karachi because the west-open apartments benefit from a cool breeze through most of the year – that means reduced requirement for airconditioning during the summers.

Since we’re obviously going to be very busy during the coming days, I won’t be able to blog. Also, I’ve got test week coming up – 23rd to 28th April so between that and the move, there’s virtually no time left. As I mentioned earlier, I’ve got several important tasks lined up for the after-the-test freedom and I’ll talk about my ideas for those when I blog next InshAllah.

When I get the chance, I’ll even post up a few pictures of our apartment – I’m really excited about it (when I’m not thinking of the tests coming up)!

Assalam-o-alaikum!

3 responses to “The Big Move

  1. Farzeen April 11, 2007 at 3:34 am

    Assalaamu’alaykum sis

    So should I tell my sister to look out for the excited bunch of ppl moving a kilometre away from their home? It would a tremendously small world if she is anywhere near you right now. She’s somewhere in Karachi, hopefully having lots of fun : ).

    Anyway.. mabrook on the move. I’m glad to see that the whole family is excited, though I can’t help but feel for you all with all the pre-move preparations that you’ve been experiencing. I don’t think I’d have the energy for such.. so more credit to you all : ). Ohh and about the kitchen.. when we moved into this home, my parents added doors to the kitchen so we could keep the masala smells in the kitchen and air out the house a bit better. I’m sure the set up there isn’t quite the same.. I’m sure it’s a lovely kitchen, insha’Allah (with nice cabinet handles..hehe). As long as it makes you happy, it is lovely : ).

    May Allah bless you new home, may He fill it with His great nur. May He allow it to be an abode of peace and tranquility for your family as you all work towards coming closer to Him, ameen!

    Happy and easy moving dear sister, insha’Allah! : )
    [ I don’t like the way wordpress animates smileys.. they look shifty, not friendly.]

  2. Ameera April 11, 2007 at 9:41 pm

    Walaikumassalam!

    Jazak’Allah for your kind duas… a move such as this one always needs lots of duas for protection and blessing from Allah, InhsAllah!

    Haha… nice one about your sister. It certainly sounds like a comic situation… an excited bunh moving a kilometer! šŸ˜› (I have to have this smiley here, whatever it looks like… I look like that right now anyway!)

    I see what you mean about the kitchen but I guess we just weren’t ready to have the kitchen door away from the main family area so we walled that one up and knocked out another one three-and-half wide one – without door panels. And besides, I WANT the kitchen to be visible, it’s so pretty Ma’shAllah… and yes, really cool metallic rod-like handles. The best part is the dark dreen marble and the cute little lights in the glass cabinets. šŸ™‚ Amma just keeps saying, “Allah ka Shukr” when she inspects it from time to time.

    I guess I’ll really put up pictures (without intention of Ri’aa I hope, InshAllah) and you decide about the handles! šŸ™‚

    Assalam-o-alaikum!

  3. Farzeen April 12, 2007 at 3:57 am

    Assalaamu’alaykum sis

    Wa iyak. I look forward to the pictures, insha’Allah šŸ™‚

    A curious question, being entirely ignorant about Urdu… (maybe I’ll pick some up from you.. though knowng me.. *woosh*..right over my head..lol)… Is there a difference in saying “Amma” versus “Ammi”…. or “Abba” versus “Abbu”. Is it simply a difference in dialect? Sorry, this is completely off topic, but intrigues me nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

